Sites of the Week: December 15, 2012

“Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself.”

Mark Twain

Factoid: Five of the ten worst shootings in U.S. history have occurred in the past 6 years.

As we approach the end of 2012, I wanted to share a video compilation of some of my athletic accomplishments from this past year. http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=EEu42L0ufBY

Now on to this week’s sites.  This week, I’m sending out three ‘Site of the Week’ recommendations.

YouTube Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=GBaHPND2QJg&feature=youtu.be

I love this. It’s one of my favorite classical pieces. It truly “makes my spirit soar.” This video comes to you by way of my friend Jack and his timing could not be better. After the horror of yesterday’s events in Newtown, Connecticut it’s important to remember that the world is also filled with goodness and beauty.

Face Retirement: Meet the Future You

http://faceretirement.merrilledge.com/

This Merrill Edge site claims that if people can visualize how they will look at retirement, it will make the future more concrete and young people will be more likely to save for retirement.  I’m not sure I agree, but this site is nevertheless fun. All you need is a Webcam and 1 minute to meet your future self. Frankly, I was skeptical. I mean how can they know whether you gain weight, lose your hair, etc.?  The site made a believer out of me. My results were nothing short of amazing. It’s uncanny how much I resembled my father in his 70s.  You can see my results below at the end of the newsletter. (omitted from blog post).

America’s Health Rankings

http://www.americashealthrankings.org/rankings

This United Health Foundation site features state health rankings by a range of factors and allows both state and international comparisons by a certain measure or year. So there’s the secret to  a long life. All you need to do is move to Vermont, Hawaii or New Hampshire.

Ernie Orr sez “Check em out!”

Leave a Reply

