Sites of the Week: December 8, 2012

“Diplomacy is the art of telling plain truths without giving offense.”

Winston Churchill

Factoid: Just 2.8% of bills introduced in this Congress have been passed.

Los Angeles Times

 

Chag Hanukkah sameach!

I received the following earlier this week from my sister, Cathy:

An old man in Miami calls up his son in New York and says, “Listen, your mother and I are getting divorced. Forty-five years of misery is enough.”

“Dad, what are you talking about?” the son screams.

“We can’t stand the sight of each other any longer,” he says. “I’m sick of her face, and I’m sick of talking about this, so call your sister in Chicago and tell her,” and he hangs up.

Now, the son is worried. So he calls up his sister. She says, “Like hell they’re getting divorced!” and calls her father immediately. “You’re not getting divorced! Don’t do another thing, the two of us are flying home tomorrow to talk about this. Until then, don’t call a lawyer, don’t file a paper, DO YOU HEAR ME?” and she hangs up.

The old man turns to his wife and says “Okay, they’re coming for Christmas and paying their own airfares.”

I think you’ll enjoy this short video my wife shared with me:

http://entertainment.msn.com/videopreview/?channelindex=9&from=en-us_msnhp#/video/b6ad249f-5aa7-4891-afb2-348f1b7473a2

 

Now on to this week’s sites.  This week, I’m sending out three ‘Site of the Week’ recommendations.

OneSimpleWish

http://onesimplewish.org/

Over 500,000 children live in the foster care system in the U.S. Foster care often includes multiple home and institution placements–sometimes within the same year or even month. One Simple Wish is a nonprofit organization founded four years ago. Their goal is to brighten the lives of abused, neglected and homeless foster children by fulfilling their wishes. They do this by connecting these foster children people with people like us. Their site features wishes from these children who make their wishes through One Simple Wish’s network of partners and organizations. Wishes can be clothing, school supplies, music lessons, etc. with most wishes ranging from $5 to $100. If you wish to  help, just search their wish database. After finding a wish you’d like to grant, click on [Grant Wish]. You can then either pay for the wish online or send a check for the wish value shown. Once payment is received, One Simple Wish will purchase the wish on your behalf and arrange delivery.

RoboForm

http://www.roboform.com/

I’ve written in the past about the importance of online security. The Username for many sites is your e-mail address which can easily be uncovered. This means nothing stands between you and a hacker other than your password. Strong passwords are critical and if 2-step verification is available, you should take advantage of it.  Those of you who know me won’t be surprised when I say that I take security seriously. In spite of this, in the past 6 months two of my online accounts were compromised even though both accounts had passwords that were upper/lower-case, alphanumeric and 8 characters. Fortunately, I discovered the intrusion and quickly changed my password before any damage could be done.

Your best protection is:

  1. Create strong passwords consisting of 8+ characters consisting of upper/lower-case, alphanumeric, special characters that can’t be found in a dictionary such as Z*dkdLbx2X.
  2. Use unique passwords (i.e. do not use the same password on multiple sites).
  3. Update your passwords regularly.

The problem with the above guidelines is how do you remember your passwords. I’ve mentioned RoboForm in the past. It is a leading password management program that automatically generates strong passwords, securely remembers them, automatically logs you into Web sites and auto-fills online forms with one-click ease. I purchased RoboForm Desktop over 6 years ago and absolutely love it. However, with the even stronger passwords I recently implemented, I needed a way to sync my passwords on my home and work notebooks, iPad and iPhone so I upgraded to RoboForm Everywhere. The cost of the RoboForm Desktop license is a 1-time $29.95 while the RoboForm Everywhere license is subscription-based with an introductory 1 year license price of only $9.95. Warning: Shameless self-promotion.  If you decide to purchase RoboForm Everywhere, please click here and I will receive a 3-month extension to my RoboForm Everywhere subscription.

Every Apple TV Ad Ever Made

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=UUKB83fAKU3YoXXuGDH5B1YA&page=1

This site comes to you by way of my wife Betty and is a compilation of every Apple TV ad ever broadcast.

 

Ernie Orr sez “Check em out!”

 

Leave a Reply

