Sites of the Week: January 5, 2013

“I don’t make jokes. I just watch the government and report the facts.”

Will Rogers

Factoid: One in nine Americans over age 12 takes antidepressants, including one in four women between 40 and 59. Since the early 1990s antidepressant use has increased 400 percent across all age groups.  One American in 12 takes antidepressants despite having no depressive symptoms whatsoever. Less than a third of those taking antidepressants have had a checkup with a mental health professional in the last year, and one in seven has been on antidepressants for more than a decade.

2013 edition of the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Happy 2013!

Now on to this week’s sites.  This week, I’m sending out three ‘Site of the Week’ recommendations.

Ernie Orr’s Sites of the Week

https://erniesez.wordpress.com/

Thanks to a suggestion from my friend Justin L, I have now created a ‘Sites of the Week’ blog which will contain an archive of past newsletters sans the cartoons due to copyright concerns. I still plan to “publish” the newsletter, but the blog will allow you to search for past sites by date or keyword. To launch the blog, I’ve already posted newsletters beginning with the first week of June, 2012.

Along with dropping the cartoons from the blog version, I’ll be retiring Joe Bob for similar reasons. Over the years, some have asked who Joe Bob is or the origin of the tagline “Joe Bob says check it out.”  Many years ago, there was a syndicated drive-in movie review column every Friday in the entertainment section of the San Francisco Chronicle.  The Texan critic’s name is John Irving Bloom, but he went by the pseudonym Joe Bob Briggs. If you’re interested, you can read a sample review here. While many would say his satire of the drive-in movie genre was juvenile and sophomoric, I always enjoyed it. (No accounting for taste, right?) His reviews always ended with a variety of “counts”, the number of stars and  “Joe Bob says check it out.”  Since I recently discovered that he’s still around, I don’t want to have any legal issues, so Joe Bob has now been officially replaced by Ernie Orr. In case you’re wondering, Ernie Orr is a nickname dating back to Bowling Green State University where I played intramural hockey. As the only member of the team who could actually skate, I was the team’s “star player”. As such, I was given that nickname after Bobby Orr, the famous Boston Bruins and Chicago Black Hawks Defenseman.

If you know anyone who might enjoy the newsletter, feel free to forward them the link. The blog includes a Follow link and they can also subscribe by sending an e-mail to ernieorr@yahoo.com with SUBSCRIBE in the subject line. If you wish to not receive the newsletter, just send an e-mail to the same address with UNSUBSCRIBE in the subject.

 

Super Brain Yoga

http://mylifeyoga.com/2012/12/29/superbrain-yoga/

This site comes via my sister, Cathy. I admit that I’m usually very traditional when it comes to medical matters and skeptical by nature, but I think I’ll try out this exercise. It only takes a few minutes a day and perhaps in a month or so I’ll be smart enough to see how crazy this idea is.

 

Shelfari

http://www.shelfari.com/

I love to read. If you do, then this site is for you. Shelfari was launched in 2006 and was acquired by Amazon 2 years later. Like Wikipedia, Shelfari is a community-edited encyclopedia for book lovers. Read reviews, share discussions and get background information on characters and places of books you’re reading.

Ernie Orr sez “Check em out!”

One comment

Leave a Reply

